FanPost

After further review, Jennings catch not a TD and here's why

There has been much discussion about Jennings catch as to whether or not it was a completion, and therefore a TD.  When I saw it, I thought it was b/c he had control and two feet in, doesn't matter after that.  After looking into it, I now know I didn't know and understand the actual rules.  The rule has changed and is a little confusing. 

First off, let's clear up what the rule is that applies here.  The "football move" verbiage was removed a couple years (2007)  ago and replaced with the "maintain possession throughout contact with the ground" or going to the ground clause. 

The interpretation is this:  possession is established in the field, sideline, or endzone with control of the ball and two feet (or other body part except hands) down.  If the player is contacted by a defender before both feet come down, then the going to the ground note is invoked.  That says he must maintain control of the ball before, during, and after contacting the ground. 

I still cannot find video of the catch, but a few photos (see below fold) I have seen show Tillman in contact, and I think it is safe to say he was before both Jennings' feet came down.  If that is the case, then Jennings would have had to remain control all the way to the ground and after contacting it. (he did not)  Note:  it does not matter that he was not going to the ground during the catch, only that he was contacted before both feet were down.  That contact is what made control of the ball necessary all the way down.

Mark Pereira, the NFL VP of Officiating explains it very well here about a TB receiver in week 10:  Video here

Also, watch the next item he discusses involving the GB/Dallas game.  MM got away with one there.

There you go - No Catch.  Who cares, we won and the Bears still suck!


This is how the rule actually reads:


"A player is in possession when he is in firm grip and control of the ball inbounds. To gain possession of a loose ball that has been caught, intercepted or recovered, a player must have complete control of the ball and have both feet completely on the ground inbounds or any other part of his body, other than his hands, on the ground inbounds. If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any other part of his body to the ground or if there is any doubt that the acts were simultaneous, there is no possession. This rule applies to the field of play and in the end zone."

 Note 1, going to the ground clause:

 "A player who goes to the ground in the process of attempting to secure possession of a loose ball [with or without contact by a defender] must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, there is no possession. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, it is a catch, interception or recovery."

Also, the force-out rule was removed in 2008, to clear up one remaining question that was raised.

Jennings pic

FanPosts are designed to be used to start a conversation on a specific topic, not unlike a front page story. They have a 75-word minimum: If you don't have much to say on a topic, consider using a FanShot.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker