NFL Triple Crown Winners

The Triple Crown is a celebrated award in the baseball and horse racing worlds. With the recent prestigious award being given to Miguel Cabrera this season in the MLB, I began to wonder if any NFL quarterbacks have won the Triple Crown. I wondered if a quarterback had ever led the league in Passing Yards, Touchdowns and Passer rating. I figured with all the great passers the NFL has shown us, the fans, over the years, there had to be numerous winners. My findings were close to what I assumed.

Without further ado, here are all the Triple Crown winners from 1960-2011 in the NFL.

The first Triple Crown winner, of the modern era, came in 1970 when John Brodie of the 49ers led the league with 2,941 yds, 24 TDs and a passer rating of 93.8.

The next winner had to wait 14 years and it was none other than Dan Marino, who put up one of the best statistical seasons of all time with 5,089 passing yds, 48 TDs and a passer rating of 108.9

After Marino, we started to see the trend of passing offenses take off and Green Bay implemented one of the most prolific offenses of all time in the mid 90’s. Brett Favre led the league in Passing yards with 4,413 and 38 touchdowns. He also had a passer rating of 99.5 which led all passers who played all 16 games. Technically Jim Harbaugh beat him out with a passer rating of 100.7 but he only started 12 games that season.

Kurt Warner earned the Triple Crown in 2001, when a part of the “Greatest Show on Turf” with 4,830 passing yards, 36 TDs and a passer rating of 101.4.

The last Triple Crown season occurred in 2007 when the New England Patriots went undefeated in the regular season led by Tom Bradys dream season. He passed for 4,806 yards, 50 TDs and a passer rating of 117.2.

So to summarize, the NFL has seen 5 Triple Crown Winners in the past 51 years.

John Brodie – 1970 – SF – 2,941 yds – 24 TDs – 93.8

Dan Marino – 1984 – MIA – 5,084 yds – 48 TDs – 108.9

*Brett Favre – 1995 – GB – 4,413 yds – 38 TDs – 99.5

Kurt Warner – 2001 –STL – 4,830 yds – 36 TDs – 101.4

Tom Brady – 2007 – NE – 4806 yds – 50 TDs – 117.2

With winners their come plenty of close calls and what ifs, some notable close calls are:

Y.A Tittle in 63’ and 64’

Sonny Jurgenson in 67’

Billy Kilmer in 72’

John Staubach in 73’ and 79’

Bob Griese in 77’

Brian Sipe in 80’

Dan Fouts in 81’ and 82’

Lynn Dickey in 83’

Dan Marino in 86’ and 85’

Joe Montana in 87’

Jim Everett in 88’ and 89’

Steve Young in 93’ 94’ and 98’

Brett Favre in 96’ and 97’

Kurt Warner in 99’

Peyton Manning in 2000, 04’ and 06’

Drew Brees in 2008, 09’ and 11’

And of course….Aaron Rodgers almost won it last year and perhaps would have if he had played the last game of the season.

Well I hope this article was an enjoyable to read as it was to write!

FanPosts are designed to be used to start a conversation on a specific topic, not unlike a front page story. They have a 75-word minimum: If you don't have much to say on a topic, consider using a FanShot.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.