Green Bay Packers 53-Man Roster Released

Well done, Mr. Boykin.

The Green Bay Packers have announced 18 cuts, along with one PUP move and one IR move, getting them down to 53 players. Most of the moves had leaked out prior to the team's official announcement, but it's always nice to hear it straight from the horse's mouth.

Derek Sherrod is the player who was moved to the reserve/PUP list and Vic So'oto was placed on injured reserve. Sherrod has been recovering from a double leg break and did not play in preseason, but is obviously close enough to being healthy that the team wanted the option to bring him back before the halfway point in the season.

You can find the full list of cuts below the jump.

The guys who have been released are: T Shea Allard, WR Diondre Borel, TE Brandon Bostick, QB B.J. Coleman, FB Nic Cooper, T Andrew Datko, C/G Tommie Draheim, C/G Sampson Genus, WR Curenski Gilleylen, WR Tori Gurley, DE Lawrence Guy, S Anthony Levine, CB Otis Merrill, WR Dale Moss, DT Daniel Muir, RB Marc Tyler, G Greg Van Roten and G/T Reggie Wells.

The biggest surprise here is probably who was not cut: Jarrett Boykin. He makes the team as a sixth wide receiver. Daniel Muir was a surprise cut after a solid preseason, and his release indicates that Ryan Pickett is going to be the backup nose tackle. Anthony Levine's release is a slight surprise, as he played well during preseason as well. I actually felt that he out-performed M.D. Jennings.

Incredibly, four undrafted rookie free agents made the roster. Boykin is joined by Don Barclay, Dezman Moses and Sean Richardson.

Here's the entire roster:

QB: Aaron Rodgers, Graham Harrell
RB: Cedric Benson, Brandon Saine, James Starks, Alex Green
FB: John Kuhn
WR: Greg Jennings, Jordy Nelson, Donald Driver, Randall Cobb, James Jones Jarrett Boykin
TE: Jermichael Finley, Tom Crabtree, D.J. Williams, Ryan Taylor
OT: Marshall Newhouse, Bryan Bulaga, Don Barclay
OG: T.J. Lang, Josh Sitton
C: Jeff Saturday, Evan Dietrich-Smith
DT: B.J. Raji, Ryan Pickett
DE: Jerel Worthy, C.J. Wilson, Mike Daniels, Phillip Merling, Mike Neal*
OLB: Clay Matthews, Nick Perry, Jamari Lattimore, Dezman Moses, Erik Walden*
ILB: A.J. Hawk, D.J. Smith, Robert Francois, Terrell Manning, Brad Jones
CB: Tramon Williams, Davon House, Jarrett Bush, Sam Shields, Casey Hayward, Brandian Ross
FS: Morgan Burnett
SS: Charles Woodson, M.D. Jennings, Sean Richardson, Jerron McMillian
K: Mason Crosby
P: Tim Masthay
LS: Brett Goode

*Mike Neal is suspended for four games and Erik Walden is suspended for one, so they do not count against the roster; this is why 55 players are listed

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.

Join Acme Packing Company

You must be a member of Acme Packing Company to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Acme Packing Company. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.