clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Packers Hall of Fame 2014: Ahman Green and Ken Ruettgers to be Inducted

The Green Bay Packers will honor two of the franchise's more recent stars next summer.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA Today Sports

In an announcement today, the Green Bay Packers released the names of two former players who will be inducted into the Packers Hall of Fame at next summer's induction ceremony at Lambeau Field. Each was a critical piece in successful Packers teams over his career, and each is greatly deserving of the honor.

Here's the official announcement from the team:

Ahman Green is of course the Packers' all-time rushing leader with 1,851 carries and 8,322 yards. He was acquired from the Seattle Seahawks prior to the 2000 season and promptly broke off 1,000-yard rushing seasons each of the next five years and in six of the next seven. Green's best season came in 2003, when he ran for a career-high 1,883 yards, added 367 receiving yards, and scored 20 total touchdowns (a Packer single-season record) on the way to a Pro Bowl.

After two years in Houston, Green returned for a eight games in the 2009 season, when he overtook Jim Taylor for the Packers' career rushing title. Green ranks third among all Packers in total touchdowns behind Don Hutson and Taylor, and is first in rushing yards and yards from scrimmage.

Ken Ruettgers played left tackle for the Packers for 12 seasons from 1985-1996, and was the primary starter at the position for each season but his rookie year. Ruettgers retired from football during the 1996 season due to knee injuries, but was presented with a Super Bowl ring following the Packers' win in Super Bowl XXXI that year.

Congratulations to these two great Packers!