clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Super Bowls L and LI Awarded to San Francisco and Houston

With few competitors, the owners' votes on the next two big games to be awarded were essentially formalities.

Michael Heiman

This week, the NFL owners have gathered in Boston for their annual meetings. On the agenda were the issues of where to hold the next two Super Bowls to be awarded: Super Bowl L after the 2015 football season and Super Bowl LI which decides the NFL Champion for the 2016 season.

Miami, San Francisco, and Houston were all in the running but as the voting approached over the last few weeks, Miami's bid took a major hit when the Florida government did not give the Dolphins the necessary money for the stadium renovations. When that came to light, it became more or less a formality that San Francisco and Houston would get the bids they sought, but that has now been made official:

The NFL announced that Super Bowl L will be played at the 49ers' new stadium in Santa Clara, California and that Super Bowl LI will be held at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

San Francisco and Miami had put forth bids for the 50th edition of the game and the loser of that vote was expected to bid for the following year's game. It appears that Miami was soundly defeated in both votes, however.

The Super Bowl was held once previously in the Bay Area for Super Bowl XIX, when the San Francisco 49ers defeated the Miami Dolphins at Stanford Stadium. Houston will be hosting its third Super Bowl and second at Reliant Stadium, when Super Bowl XXXVIII saw the New England Patriots defeated the Carolina Panthers. The first was held at Rice Stadium, when the Miami Dolphins beat the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl VIII.

My dream of a Super Bowl at Lambeau Field will have to go on hold for another few years.

Not a member? Join Acme Packing Company and start commenting | Follow @AcmePackingCo on Twitter | Like Acme Packing Company on Facebook | Subscribe to our RSS feed