clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ahman Green, Ken Ruettgers Inducted into Packers Hall of Fame

The Packers honor running back Ahman Green and offensive tackle Ken Ruettgers with Hall of Fame induction.


The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame grows tonight as two former players, running back Ahman Green and offensive tackle Ken Ruettgers, receive their enshrinement.

The all-time franchise leader in rushing yards, Ahman Green played for Green Bay from 2000 to 2005 and again in 2009. A third-round draft pick of the Seahawks in 1998, Green languished in Seattle behind Ricky Watters for two years. When his head coach (former Packers headman Mike Holmgren) determined that Green would never overcome his propensity for fumbles, he was shipped off to Green Bay. No longer buried on the depth chart, Green broke out to the tune of 1,743 total yards and 13 touchdowns in 2000. As a Packer, he would eventually tally 8,322 rushing yards, 54 rushing touchdowns, 2,726 receiving yards, and 14 receiving touchdowns.

Ken Ruettgers played his entire career with the Packers, most of it coming in the eighties and pre-Brett Favre nineties. Rarely recognized for his performance outside of Green Bay, Ruettgers was a consistent and reliable starter for many years at left tackle, wining the team's offensive MVP award in 1989. Ruettgers was part of the 1996 squad that went on to win Super Bowl XXXI, though he was limited to four games due to injury.

With Green and Ruettgers' additions, the Packers Hall of Fame now includes 150 inductees.

Jason Hirschhorn covers the Green Bay Packers for Acme Packing Company. He also serves as a contributor at various publications. His work has previously appeared on Hook’em Headlines, Beats Per Minute, and Lombardi Ave.