clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL All-Pro Team: Aaron Rodgers, John Kuhn Represent Packers

The Packers get a pair of players named First-Team All-Pro, and have another two players who fell just short and earned Second-Team honors.

Brett Carlsen/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers have been well-represented on All-Pro teams in the past, and the 2014 season is no different. On the Associated Press All-Pro team, which was announced on Friday, the Packers placed two players as first-teamers, and narrowly missed out on two more.

Aaron Rodgers was a nearly-unanimous choice as the top quarterback this season, earning 44 of the 50 possible votes. Rodgers was in the top five in most major statistical categories, including touchdowns (38, 3rd place), interceptions (5, fewest in the league), and passer rating (112.2, second). Tony Romo got the second-most votes with three.

This is Rodgers' second honor as a first-team All-Pro quarterback, as he earned that status during his MVP season in 2011 as well.

John Kuhn is the Packers second first-team All-Pro this season, earning 18 votes and narrowly beating out the Seahawks' Anthony Sherman, who had 14. Kuhn's versatility was likely in the minds of voters, as he posted the second-highest rushing yardage of his career and contributed regularly on special teams. However, Kuhn's improved work as a lead blocker in the run game might be the biggest contributor to this honor. Unlike in 2013, when Kuhn was often used as a third-down back and protector for the quarterback, he spent 60% of his 2014 snaps as a run blocker (according to Pro Football Focus).

This is Kuhn's first All-Pro honor, though he was elected to the Pro Bowl in 2011.

Two other Packers fell just short of earning first-team All-Pro status, but earned Second-Team honors. Wide receiver Jordy Nelson was named on 15 ballots; Antonio Brown was a nearly-unanimous selection with 48 votes, and Dez Bryant of the Cowboys earned the other spot with 24. Packers guard Josh Sitton still somehow fell short of acclaim once again, as he finished with 22 votes, just two fewer than Zack Martin of the Cowboys. Marshal Yanda of the Ravens led the way with 38 votes.

Other Packers who earned consideration include Bryan Bulaga (one vote), Corey Linsley (one), and Clay Matthews, who actually earned votes at both outside linebacker (five) and inside linebacker (one).