clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Packers Roster Cuts 2015: Nelson goes on injured reserve, seven more cuts to get to 75

The Packers are now at the 75-man limit after trimming down eight more roster spots.

Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

The Green Bay Packers, like all NFL teams, were required to reduce the number of players on the team's active roster to 75 by 3:00 PM Central time on Tuesday. Coming into the day, the Packers' roster sat at 83 players after the team announced the release of five men on Monday.

As expected, wide receiver Jordy Nelson was placed on injured reserve today as a result of his torn ACL, while the team released seven others to reach 75. Here are the players who were waived, as announced by the team in a press release this afternoon:

WR Javess Blue (waived/injured)
WR Jimmie Hunt (waived/injured)

QB Matt Blanchard
WR James Butler
TE Harold Spears
OLB Adrian Hubbard
DB Kyle Sebetic

Blanchard's release confirms that fifth-round draft pick Brett Hundley will be the Packers' third-string quarterback for the 2015 season. However, all public comments by the team and coaching staff regarding Blanchard have been positive, a possible sign that the team may be interested in bringing him back later in the season, perhaps in the event of an injury or even on the practice squad.

One of the more surprising of the early cuts, along with Blanchard, was linebacker Adrian Hubbard. The former Alabama player spent the 2014 season on the Packers' practice squad, but despite flashes of great ability could not lock in a job in the regular rotation at outside linebacker. The Packers still have undrafted rookies James Vaughters and Jermauria Rasco on the 75-man roster at this time.

The rest of the players released today had not made much of an impact in camp. All but Sebetic were undrafted rookies, while Sebetic was in camp with the Giants a year ago but did not make the team.

These cuts are in addition to the five players released yesterday:

OT Fabbians Ebbele
OT Vince Kowalski
DT Lavon Hooks
ILB Tavarus Dantzler
ILB Josh Francis