clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Packers injury report: Lacy, Adams upgraded to probable, Burnett ruled out

Green Bay returns two important offensive weapons but loses one of its best defensive backs.

Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers received some good news a day in advance of their Monday night tilt with the Kansas City Chiefs. Top running back Eddie Lacy and starting wideout Davante Adams now appear very likely to play after the team listed both as probable on the latest injury report.

Lacy made it through only three carries last week before an ankle issue flared up, forcing him to miss the rest of the game. The third-year tailback didn't participate in practice until Friday, and even then only in a limited capacity. However, the ankle has improved enough for Lacy to give it a go against a stout Chiefs defense. Still, look for the Packers to give James Starks plenty of touches so as not to overload the still-recovering Lacy.

Adams' ankle injury didn't appear quite as severe coming out of Week 2, though the receiver missed nearly as much practice as Lacy the following week. He played through the injury against the Seahawks, though he was noticeably less effective than normal. Expect rookie Ty Montgomery to have a bigger hand in the offense this week as a result.

The bad news for Green Bay is the unavailability of starting safety Morgan Burnett. Burnett's troublesome calf cost him the season opener, and it will hold him out again against Kansas City. Look for Micah Hyde to start in his place.

Here is the Packers' full injury report:


  • WR Davante Adams (ankle)
  • RB Eddie Lacy (ankle)
  • FB Aaron Ripkowski (shoulder)
  • CB Sam Shields (calf)


  • OLB Mike Neal (groin)
  • S Sean Richardson (ankle)


  • OT Bryan Bulaga (knee)
  • S Morgan Burnett (calf)
  • CB Demetri Goodson (hamstring)
Jason B. Hirschhorn covers the Green Bay Packers for Acme Packing Company. He also serves as an NFL writer for SB Nation and Sports on Earth and is a member of the Pro Football Writers of America.