clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Packers' Josh Sitton earns Second-Team All-Pro honor for 2015

Three Packers earned All-Pro votes, but only one was named to one of the two All-Pro teams by the AP.

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

On Friday afternoon, the Associated Press announced its All-Pro teams for the 2015 NFL season. The Green Bay Packers landed one player on the Second Team squad: left guard Josh Sitton.

This is Sitton's second straight year being named to the AP Second Team, as he earned the same honor in 2014. Sitton has also been named to the Pro Bowl two straight years, as well as after the 2012 season. Sitton finished third overall in the voting among all guards behind only Baltimore's Marshal Yanda and Pittsburgh's David DeCastro.

The 29-year-old Sitton has started every game for the Packers over the past four years, and has missed just two contests since taking over as a starter in 2009.

Sitton was not the only Packer to receive votes for the All-Pro team this year, though he was the only player who finished on the two-deep. Fullback John Kuhn, who was the league's First-Team All-Pro in 2014, earned a single vote. The third Packer earning votes was Clay Matthews, whose four votes put him just short of the Second Team and in fifth place among inside linebackers.

Earning unanimous selections were defensive end J.J. Watt and running back Adrian Peterson. Khalil Mack from the Oakland Raiders made history this year, being the first player ever voted onto the All-Pro First Team at two different positions in the same year. He finished second to Watt at defensive end with 24 votes, and tied for second place among outside linebackers as well with 17.