clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame Announcement: Brett Favre voted in as part of Class of 2016

The wait is over for the legendary quarterback, who made it into the Hall of Fame in his first try.

Brian Bahr/Getty Images

It's official: Green Bay Packers legend Brett Favre will go into the NFL Hall of Fame this summer.

On Saturday night, the NFL announced its 2016 Hall of Fame induction class. Favre was voted in during his first year of eligibility and will be officially inducted into the Hall in Canton, Ohio over the weekend of August 4-7 this summer.

As a result of his induction, the Green Bay Packers are expected to play in this year's Hall of Fame Game, scheduled for August 7th.

Favre was a three-time NFL MVP, earning the honors in 1995, 96, and 97. He made the Pro Bowl 11 times and was a three-time First-Team All-Pro at quarterback as well. His Packers career spanned 16 seasons from 1992 until 2007. Favre retired after the 2010 season as the NFL's all-time leader in most passing statistics.

He is part of a five-man Modern-Era Hall of Fame class that includes wide receiver Marvin Harrison, offensive tackle Orlando Pace, Buccaneers and Colts head coach Tony Dungy, and linebacker Kevin Greene, who served as the Packers' outside linebackers coach from 2009 through 2013.

Two senior committee nominees were also voted in: Raiders quarterback Ken Stabler and Lions offensive guard Dick Stanfel, along with former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr., who was elected as a contributor.

If there were any doubt about Favre's case for the Hall of Fame, it was put to rest quickly by the voters. Here's a look at how much of a lock Favre was from inside the voting room:

Congratulations, Brett. You earned it.