clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Packers safety LeRoy Butler makes first cut for Hall of Fame

The inventor of the Lambeau Leap became a Hall of Fame semifinalist for the first time.

LeRoy Butler #36

One of the greatest Green Bay Packers took a huge step towards enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. On Tuesday, LeRoy Butler became a semifinalist for induction, one of 10 nominees to make the cut for the first time.

One of the most dominant defenders of the 1990s, Butler registered 38 interceptions and 10 ½ sacks while earning four All-Pro nods during his 12 seasons with the Packers. Along with Hall of Fame defensive end Reggie White, Butler turned Green Bay's defense into one of the league's best, helping the team take home the Lombardi Trophy in 1996.

While Butler secured his legacy with field-tilting play, he also invented the touchdown celebration now known as the "Lambeau Leap." The Packers erected a statute in 2014 to commemorate Butler and the celebration outside Lambeau Field.

Butler has received a nomination for the Hall of Fame before, but this represents the first time the retired safety has made it to this stage of the process. Among safeties, Steve Atwater, Brian Dawkins, John Lynch, and Ronde Barber also survived the first cut.