clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mark Tauscher and Ryan Longwell will be Packers Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Congratulations to two long-time Packers on this great honor!

Green Bay Packers v Chicago Bears Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

On Tuesday, the Green Bay Packers announced that the team will be inducting a pair of players into the Packers Hall of Fame in 2018. Both players played integral parts in the organization for about a decade, with one earning a Super Bowl ring.

The first player is Ryan Longwell, who kicked for the Packers for nine years from 1997 to 2005. Longwell hit about 82% of his field goals as a Packer before moving on to Minnesota, where he kicked for the Vikings until 2011. As a rookie, Longwell replaced Chris Jacke for the defending Super Bowl champion Packers. That team returned to the Super Bowl, where Longwell made his only field goal attempt and three PATs as the Packers fell to the Denver Broncos.

Tauscher was the Packers’ starting right tackle for eleven seasons after being drafted out of the University of Wisconsin in the seventh round of the 2000 NFL Draft. A graduate of Auburndale High School in central Wisconsin, Tauscher took over the right tackle job as a rookie and held it until forced to retire due to injury after the 2010 season. He blocked for both Brett Favre and Aaron Rodgers, and earned a ring when the Packers won Super Bowl XLV.

Both players are greatly deserving of the honor, and we congratulate the two on their impending induction. The ceremony will take place on July 21st, shortly before the start of training camp.