clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Packers win three ESPYs, including Best Play and Best NFL Player

A Packers player also added a win for Comeback Player of the Year in the annual sports awards show.

NFL: NFC Divisional-Green Bay Packers at Dallas Cowboys Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

On Wednesday night, the annual ESPYs awards show took place in downtown Los Angeles, with several Green Bay Packers players nominated for different awards. All told, the Packers ended up racking up three wins, with a repeat win in one category that they won last season as well.

Despite not earning the media’s nod as the NFL’s Most Valuable Player, Aaron Rodgers earned the ESPY for best NFL player on Wednesday. Rodgers led the NFL in touchdown passes with 40 and delivered on his “run the table” prediction over the last six games of the regular season. He then turned in a magnificent overall performance in the Wild Card round of the playoffs, followed by some incredible throws in the Divisional round as the Packers advanced to the NFC Championship Game for the second time in three years.

Rodgers’ throw to tight end Jared Cook against the Cowboys in the Divisional round was our pick here at APC for the best play of the Packers’ 2016 season, and that play ended up winning the ESPY for best play overall across all sports. This was the second straight year that a throw from Rodgers to a tight end earned this ESPY award (as well as the top spot on our countdown), as his hail mary to Richard Rodgers against the Lions got the award last year.

The third Packers award win went to Jordy Nelson, who was voted as the Comeback Player of the Year. Nelson missed all of 2015 with a torn ACL, but returned with a vengeance, leading the NFL in receiving touchdowns with 14 and finishing sixth in receiving yards. He also improved his overall production down the stretch during the season, with at least six receptions in each of the Packers’ games during the six-game winning streak, and three 100-yard performances in that stretch.

Here’s the full list of all the awards winners.