clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NFL Playoffs 2020 Schedule: Packers will face 49ers in NFC Championship

New, comments

Green Bay will get a week off and host a playoff game in two weeks.

Wild Card Round - New York Giants v Green Bay Packers Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers now know what seed they hold in the NFC playoffs, as well as when they will play their first postseason game since the 2016 NFC Championship. Green Bay got the second seed in the NFC thanks to their victory over the Detroit Lions on Sunday, putting them in a three-way tie with the San Francisco 49ers and New Orleans Saints at 13-3.

The 49ers got to that 13-3 mark by defeating the Seahawks in dramatic fashion on Sunday Night Football. Seattle had a chance to win the game in the final seconds, but an inexplicable delay of game penalty, an obvious non-called and non-reviewed pass interference committed by the 49ers, and a fourth-down stop inches shy of the goal line gave San Francisco a 26-21 win.

In the three-way tie at 13-3, San Francisco takes the top seed by beating both the Packers and Saints head-to-head during the regular season. The Packers then claimed the second seed by virtue of a superior conference record, going 10-2 against NFC foes compared to New Orleans’ 9-3 record.

As a result, the Saints must host the sixth-seeded Minnesota Vikings on Wild Card weekend while the Packers and 49ers get a bye into the Divisional round. While those two teams do not yet know who they will play, they at least know when. The Packers will play the final game of the Divisional round, kicking off at 5:40 PM Central Time on Sunday, January 12th, with the 49ers hosting the Saturday night game the day before.

That Saints-Vikings game will be the early game on Sunday of Wild Card weekend, kicking off at noon central time. Both NFC Wild Card games will take place on Sunday, with both AFC games on Saturday.

Here are the full schedules for both rounds of the playoffs.


Wild Card Round

Saturday, January 4th

Buffalo Bills (AFC #5) at Houston Texans (AFC #4)
NRG Stadium, Houston, TX
3:35 PM CT (4:35 PM ET)
ABC/ESPN
Commentators: Joe Tessitore, Booger McFarland

Tennessee Titans (AFC #6) at New England Patriots (AFC #3)
Gillette Stadium, Foxboro, MA
8:15 PM ET
CBS
Commentators: Jim Nantz, Tony Romo

Sunday, January 5th

Minnesota Vikings (NFC #6) at New Orleans Saints (NFC #3)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, LA
12:05 PM CT (1:05 PM ET)
FOX
Commentators: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman

Seattle Seahawks (NFC #5) at Philadelphia Eagles (NFC #4)
Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia, PA
4:40 PM ET
NBC
Commentators: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth


Divisional Round

Saturday, January 11th

Minnesota Vikings at San Francisco 49ers
Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, CA
1:35 PM PT (4:35 PM ET)
NBC
Commentators: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth

Tennessee Titans at Baltimore Ravens
M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore, MD
8:15 PM ET
CBS
Commentators: Ian Eagle, Dan Fouts

Sunday, January 12th

Houston Texans at Kansas City Chiefs
Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, MO
2:05 PM CT (3:05 PM ET)
CBS

Seattle Seahawks at Green Bay Packers
Lambeau Field, Green Bay, WI
5:40 PM CT (6:40 PM ET)
FOX
Commentators: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman


Conference Championships

Sunday, January 19th

AFC Championship Game
Tennessee Titans at Kansas City Chiefs
Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, MO
3:00 PM ET
CBS
Commentators: Jim Nantz, Tony Romo

NFC Championship Game
Green Bay Packers at San Francisco 49ers
Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, CA
6:30 PM ET
FOX
Commentators: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman


SUPER BOWL LIV

Sunday, February 2

Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, FL
6:00 PM ET
FOX
Commentators: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman