clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Monday Night Football 2019: Texans-Saints and Broncos-Raiders will put an end to week 1

New, comments

An AFC West battle will finish off the first week of the 2019 season.

NFL: DEC 24 Broncos at Raiders Photo by Ric Tapia/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The end of week one in the NFL’s 2019 season is here, and two games will put a bow on the opening weekend. The Green Bay Packers got the year started with a 10-3 victory over the Chicago Bears, but after NFL fans get a cross-conference matchup in the early Monday Night Football game, two AFC West teams will duke it out to finish up the first set of games around the league.

First up should be an exciting offensive matchup, as two excellent quarterbacks at very different parts of their careers will face off. Deshaun Watson is emerging as a star player in the league as he begins his third year, while Drew Brees has been that for over a decade and will look to have another great season at the age of 40.

Following that, we’ll get the Broncos and Raiders, two teams with interesting coach storylines. Vic Fangio finally gets his chance as a head coach this year in the Mile High City, while Jon Gruden returns for a second year in his second stint in Oakland after a disappointing 4-12 campaign in 2018. Tune in to see which of these teams finds their way to 1-0 to start the season.

Houston Texans at New Orleans Saints

Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, LA
6:10 PM CT (7:10 PM ET)
ESPN

Denver Broncos at Oakland Raiders

Oakland County Coliseum
Oakland, CA
7:20 PM PT (10:20 PM ET)
ESPN