clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aaron Rodgers named 2020 MVP by Pro Football Writers of America

Rodgers becomes the third player in the history of the award to win it three times or more.

Divisional Round - Los Angeles Rams v Green Bay Packers Photo by Stacy Revere/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers have announced that quarterback Aaron Rodgers has been named the 2020 season’s most valuable player by the Pro Football Writers of America.

The PFWA MVP is not considered the “official” NFL MVP award. That distinction goes to the Associated Press, and their award will not be announced until the night before the Super Bowl. However, the PFWA award usually represents a good indicator of how the AP will vote. To wit: Rodgers previously won the PFWA MVP in 2011 and 2014, the same years he was named MVP by the Associated Press.

En route to the award, Rodgers put together one of his finest statistical seasons to date. His 121.5 passer rating is second in NFL history only to the 122.5 rating he posted in 2011. He also set franchise records for touchdown passes and passing yards this year.

Rodgers joins Tom Brady and Peyton Manning as the only players to win the award more than twice. Brady has won the PFWA MVP three times (2007, 2010, and 2017) and Manning took the honor four times (2004, 2008, 2009, 2013).