clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LeRoy Butler named a Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist for second time in 2021

Butler’s second go-round as a Finalist puts him again on the precipice of induction.

LeRoy Butler #36...

Year after year, LeRoy Butler’s case as a Hall of Famer keeps getting stronger. With fellow safeties like Steve Atwater being enshrined in recent years, it feels like only a matter of time before the legendary Green Bay Packers safety finally hears his name called to receive a gold jacket.

In 2021, Butler has taken the next step forward towards potential enshrinement. Butler is a Finalist for the class of 2021, a status first reported by beat writer Tom Silverstein, who hosts a podcast with Butler.

Butler was a finalist last year as well, a status given to 15 individuals in the modern-day voting process. The Hall of Fame’s selection board will pick ten of these 15 players to be the enshrinement class of 2021, with the announcement being made during the NFL Honors, which is currently set to be held on February 6, the night before Super Bowl LV.

Butler had a legendary career as the Packers’ strong safety, playing for 12 seasons and starting 165 games. He earned four trips to the Pro Bowl and four first-team All-Pro honors in addition to being named as one of the safeties on the Hall of Fame’s NFL All-1990s team. The other safety on that team, Atwater, was just enshrined in 2020.

Here is the full list of finalists for this year’s class:

• Peyton Manning

• Charles Woodson

• Calvin Johnson

• Jared Allen

• Reggie Wayne

• Torry Holt

• Leroy Butler

• John Lynch

• Ronde Barber

• Richard Seymour

• Zach Thomas

• Clay Matthews Jr.

• Alan Faneca

• Tony Boselli

• Sam Mills