clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Packers Announce Walter Payton Man of the Year Nomination

Packers linebacker De’Vondre Campbell was nominated for his charitable efforts in the community

Green Bay Packers v Miami Dolphins Photo by Kevin Sabitus/Getty Images

The Green Bay Packers announced this week that linebacker De’Vondre Campbell is the team’s nominee for the Walter Payton Man Of The Year award. The award recognizes players who make an impact on the field as well as in their local communities. One player from each team is selected that best represents the “NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact”.

Campbell’s community impact has been mostly through the De’Vondre Campbell Family Youth Foundation, an organization he founded that focuses on helping youth and families in need through “community-centered events that directly provide relief, impact, and create change for those in need”.

Those efforts include an annual football camp in his home state of Florida, school programs that provide students and teachers with supplies, events focused around food insecurity, and an annual Adopt-A-Family program that donated $50,000 to pay for gifts for 25 families in need.

“We are proud to highlight his dedication to the community and his excellence both on and off the field,” said Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy said of Campbell’s nomination.

Fans can show their support by voting from Dec 5-Jan 8 on X (formerly Twitter) by posting #WPMOYChallenge along with the last name/Twitter handle of the nominee or voting directly at The nominee with the most hashtag mentions and votes will win an additional $35,000 donation from Nationwide ($10,000 for the runner-up and $5,000 for third place).

Each nominee will receive up to a $55,000 donation and the winner of the award will receive a $250,000 donation, both to the charity of his choice.

Campbell will be able to wear a Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year helmet decal through the end of the season for being nominated for the award. The winner will be announced during the NFL Honors on Feb 8.